top of page
  • Writer's picturenguyen1779

Creating Atmosphere - Piece 2

This second piece is beginning to feel like an uphill battle between the kind of image I have in my head, versus the image staring back at me on my screen. Initially I felt like the piece was going well and that I had successfully created a scene that emphasized scale and this sense of vastness. Hint: I was wrong.


The mid-project critique that we had helped me look at my piece in a different light and the feedback I gained from my classmates was invaluable to me. They began to point out how things like a lack of reference objects made it hard to judge where the viewer sat in space and how the space translated in terms of scale.



There's a certain stage in the art-making process that I dread come around. I like to call it the stage of "Limbo," it's where you're looking at a piece and know what changes, edits, or modifications you have to do to it but aren't quite sure how to actually put your thoughts into practice. In the stage of Limbo, its very easy to become discouraged or disheartened by your lack of physical evidence to show for all the effort that you have put in. I've learned, that all that effort pays off eventually, when at the end of it all, you have a piece that you can look at and be proud of.


As for right now though, I've got to keep my head down, keep grinding, keep trying. Who knows, maybe my next addition could contain the breakthrough I'm searching for.

3 views0 comments

Opmerkingen


bottom of page